Blackout Top News

On this episode of GGN, Nemo Hoes chops it up with 1/2 of Run The Jewels, Killer Mike, about his beginnings with Outkast to being ranked one of the best performers at Coachella. Also, Stormy Fronts gives us the weather forecast for her deep gap. Only on this week’s Double-G-News tu-perra-tu!!! Magnigganeto!!!


From the album Days With Dr. Yen Lo.


Richard Marks – Never Satisfied, The Complete Works 1968-1976

Seven years in the making, Never Satisfied is Now-Again’s collection of legendary soul and funk singles by Atlanta Guitarist/Singer/Songwriter Richard Marks. This 21-track anthology follows Marks’ stylistic development, from his earliest work for the legendary Tuska label, c.1968-1972, through his more mature releases on the Shout label and smaller regional labels like Note, Free Spirit and RSC. It also includes two tracks never released in any form, found on reels Marks had maintained in his Atlanta home.

Marks’ story is that on an unsung soul and funk hero; a guitarist, vocalist and songwriter whose number was in Al Green’s, Barry White’s and Eddie Kendricks’ rolodexes, but whose talents have only been heard in sporadic bursts since his 45s were released and disappeared into Atlanta’s urban expanse.

This is the story of a father and husband who managed to keep his family together as he gigged the third shift six nights a week. The story of a man who wished for more and whose talent is overdue for reassessment.

He and his music are unknown to the majority, but to an obsessive minority, he is a lightning rod, that singular point at which numerous Southern soul and funk musicians converged and exploded, spreading wondrous music in all directions. Marks’ impeccable run of 7” singles, released largely on tiny, local labels, are the stuff of legend, and are hen’s-teeth-rare.

Marks died of cancer in May of 2006, never having issued an album, or ever granting an interview. Given the caliber of his recordings and the near complete lack of information available about him before the issue of this anthology, Marks stands out as the most mysterious talent to originate from Atlanta, a city that birthed no shortage of genius, from acclaimed worldwide (the Mighty Hannibal), obscure yet celebrated (Lee Moses) and local, but well documented (Tommy Stewart).

Via Rappcats


Pogledajte Edin intervju na emisji Impuls.


marley marl pete rock

DJ Eclipse:

From “In Control” to “Pirate Radio” to “Future Flavas”, I don’t think there was ever a better duo who were not only dope at what they did on air, but also responsible for a good percentage of the music we listened to back then. “Future Flavas” debuted in January of ’95 on Hot 97 and aired on Sunday nights from 11pm-12am. Marley (mostly) on the mic and Pete Rock on the decks would bless us with weekly exclusives as well as impromptu freestyles and fresh radio promos. For example, peep out the Rakim joint (7:27) that for the life of me I do not recall ever hearing again. Then there’s Pete’s off-the-top freestyle sessions (5:46 & 55:55) as well as a dope Pete Rock produced Biz Markie promo (30:05). The great thing about listening to NYC radio shows like this one was that you were getting the music straight from the source. Songs would be recorded that week and played immediately without the wait of a label release or even the chance of ever hearing it again. Now that’s exclusive.


13 godina Smart Shopa u Mastersu!

Velika zabava povodom 13. godišnjice prvog i najnešto Smart/Head/Grow Shopa na balkanskom poluotoku.
Uz jednog jedinog PHAT PHILLIE (Blackout), dj Konac (ku..c), HGC (ak ne završi tranu) te specijalni gosti iz Beograda:
Ponesite svoje omiljene cvijetove i pridružite nam se u teatru zabave. Ulaz free!!

Facebook event



Yesterday was The Notorious B.I.G.’s birthday, and in celebration of the late rapper’s special day, an unreleased version of one of his well-known songs “Me and My B*tch” has surfaced online. Not much is known about this track, but according to the uploader, Random Rap Radio, it was sent to radio and publishing back in 1994 as part of the “B.I.G. MACK” promo package from Bad Boy Entertainment. According to Hot New Hip Hop, that particular promo was sent for DJ Premier back when he hosted his 107.5 late night radio show. Listen to the track, which features an uncleared Minnie Riperton “Take A Little Trip” sample, below.

via Hypertrak


asap rocky

At.Long.Last.A$AP tracklist has been released! Album will feature Kanye West, Mos Def, M.I.A., Lil Wayne, Future, late Rocky’s friend, ASAP Mob founder – ASAP Yams and more. Yams is credited as an executive producer role. Danger Mouse, Juicy J, and F.K.A. Twigs have all contributed to the album, and according to GQ, “At.Long.Last.A$AP was born in London at Red Bull Studios.”

Here’s the tracklist:

A$AP Rocky’s At. Long. Last. ASAP (A.L.L.A.) Tracklist
1. “Holy Ghost” (Feat. Joe Fox)
2. “Canal St.” (Feat. Bones)
3. “Fine Whine” (Feat. M.I.A., Future & Joe Fox)
4. “L$D”
5. “Excuse Me”
6. “JD”
7. “Lord Pretty Flacko Jodye 2″
8. “Electric Body” (Feat. Schoolboy Q)
9. “Jukebox Joints” (Feat. Kanye West & Joe Fox)
10. “Max B” (Feat. Joe Fox)
11. “Pharsyde” (Feat. Joe Fox)
12. “Wavybone” (Feat. Juicy J & UGK)
13. “Westside Highway” (Feat. James Fauntleroy)
14. “Better Things”
15. “M’$” (Feat. Lil’ Wayne)
16. “Dreams” (interlude)
17. “Everyday” (Feat. Rod Stewart & Miguel)
18. “Back Home” (Feat. Mos Def, Acyde & Yams)

As for what fans are going to expect from the album, Rocky told VIBE it’s the “real s—.”
“I’m just basically saying it’s a return of the real s—,” he said. “I’m not here to swag it out. I ain’t here to catwalk it. I’m here to just do me and if y’all don’t like my s—, f— it. I’m on me so hard right now. I’m making music and experimenting, making sounds that I never even knew existed.”

Album drops June 2nd.


Legendary Bronx-bred hip-hop duo Camp Lo are making their return this week with Ragtime Hightimes, a brand new album produced by longtime collaborator Ski Beatz. The album is now available in stores everywhere, and to celebrate, Geechi Suede and Sonny Cheeba are debuting the album cut “Sunglasses”. Check it out now on Soundcloud, and order the album from iTunes or Nature Sounds.


Czarface ft. Method Man - Nightcrawler

CZARFACE (Inspectah Deck + 7L & Esoteric) will release their sophomore album, Every Hero Needs a Villain, on June 16th, 2015 via Brick Records. The album includes guest appearances from Method Man, Meyhem Lauren, MF Doom, GZA, Large Professor, Juju & RA The Rugged Man.

Page 1 of 1,96312345...102030...Last »