Blackout Top News

John Legend and The Roots team up for an project bound to release September 21. The album will include some covers like Marvin Gaye’s “Wholy Holy” and Donny Hathaway’s “Little Ghetto Boy”. John Legend talked to Rap-Up about the album:

These songs sound so relevant now. On most of them, you wouldn’t change a lyric. ‘Wake Up Everybody’ has four verses—the first one is a general statement, the second is about education, third is about health care, and the fourth is about making a better environment. No editing needed

Continue reading for the tracklist.

1. “Compared to What”
2. “Hard Times”
3. “Little Ghetto Boy”
4. “Wake Up Everybody” feat. Common and Melanie Fiona
5. “Our Generation”
6. “Love the Way It Should Be”
7. “Hang On in There”
8. “I Can’t Write Left Handed”
9. “Wholy Holy”
10. “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free”
11. “Shine”

  1. […] first single off John Legend & The Roots’ upcoming joint LP, Wake Up!, due September 21st. This is a good remake of the Harold Melvin & The Bluenotes […]

  2. […] first official video from John Legend and The Roots’ collaborative album Wake Up! hitting store shelves on September 21st. Directed by Gil Green. […]

  3. […] John Legend and The Roots’ upcoming covers project, Wake Up!, dropping September […]