Blackout Top News


Today, via a premiere with, The Doppelgangaz released a slice of Parts Unknown, entitled “Jail Weight” f/ Jim Jones and the group discussed the collaboration “We’ve always been fans of Dip-Set and the movement they’ve created with their own style. Especially, Jim Jones!! His shit talking on “I Really Mean It” is amazing. While recording, we felt like a Jimmy rant was necessary on this. Thankfully, we were able to make it happen.”


Hodgy Beats – Lay Back

Produced by SAP.



Malo koja grupa na domaćoj Hip Hop sceni radi show kao KUKU$ Klan. Ukoliko taj spektakl niste iskusili (i ukoliko jeste), prilika da ih vidite i čujete (ponovno) uživo vam se pruža već ovoga petka, dakle 12.06.2015., u Tvornici Kulture. Tamo će KUKU$-ovci održati promociju svog novog mixtapea O KUKU$IMA SE NE RASPRAVLJA. Koncert te afterparty organizira Hip Hop Unity. Na stageu će im se kao support pridružiti 33 Banda, Shira Rodbina, BMK, Geralt Iz Rivije. After će provjereno biti kaotičan, jer puštaju Dj Katz te gosti iz Rijeke DJ Tikach & DJ Zolium.



A VHS Promo sent out by Chrysalis Records at the time the legendary Hip Hop group, Gang Starr was getting ready to release their 2nd album Step In The Arena.

It includes rare footage of DJ Premier & Guru in the studio working on their album and also a rare interview with a few clips from their live performance and videos backed up by a few words from others. They were so young at the time, a viewer would’ve thought they were making a demo, especially when DJ Premier says who he is and what he does, so funny.

Props to DJ Sandman who shared this from his VHS Promo.

Just before I wrapped up this post, I realized this had already been posted on Blackout in 2013., but it’s more than appropriate for this section and maybe you missed it the first time.

R.I.P. GURU (July 17, 1961 — April 19, 2010)



Tha Addicts - Embedded

DJ Eclipse:

These are some dudes out of Florida that I’ve been laying down some scratches on a few of their tracks. Menace now lives in Dallas, Texas and does commercial radio there on the all Classic Hip Hop station Boom 94.5. Bliz still resides in West Palm Beach, Florida.

Embedded is their latest single that both Premier and I have been rocking on Sirius XM. Their album This Is For Us drops August 26th.

Tha Addicts (DJ Menace & Bliz) track Embedded is produced by Wonderbreed, with cuts by DJ Menace.


G dot & Born (feat. Masta Ace) - Ghetto Survivors

Boston’s G dot & Born, studied the game and have taken their experiences from the streets to the studio, as exemplified on their latest leak, Ghetto Survivors. Production wise, Ben Hedibi crafts a soulful, slap heavy instrumental, laced with a well composed scratch hook courtesy of, DJ Technic, that takes it back to the bare bones fundamentals of MPCs and SL-1200s.

And if Edo G was first to roll out the record carpet for the revivalist duo, then Masta Ace will help them to continue their ascend, with his proficient raps that details the ‘dos and dont’s’ of ghetto survival. “don’t try to have the whole block scared of you, you never know what the scared are prepared to do.”

Ghetto Survivors is now available for purchase through iTunes and all other major digital retailers, courtesy of Audible Cons.


Captain Johnathan GGN

Captain Johnathan from the muthafuckin Time Bandit sits down at the GGN desk this week to talk about King Crab and second hand smoke.

All this and more on this week’s GGN U-Funky-Bitch-You!!!



Statik Selektah revealed the tracklist from his upcoming album Lucky 7, on which Styles P, Domo Genesis and Big K.R.I.T. also make appearances.

Lucky 7 is out July 7th, 2015.

1. Intro ft. Hannibal Buress
2. Another Level ft. Rapsody
3. Beautiful Life ft. Action Bronson & Joey Bada$$
4. Hood Boogers ft Your Old Droog & Chauncy Sherod
5. The Locker Room ft. Dave East
6. In The Wind ft. Joey Bada$$, Big K.R.I.T. & Chauncy Sherod
7. Crystal Clear ft. Royce Da 5’9”
8. How You Feel ft. Mick Jenkins
9. Murder Game ft. Smif N Wessun, Young M.A & Buckshot
10. Gentlemen ft. Illa Ghee, Sean Price & Fame of M.O.P.
11. Bodega! Ft. Bodega Bamz
12. The Trophy Room ft. Skyzoo, Ea$y Money, Domo Genesis & Masspike Miles
13. Sucker Free ft. JFK
14. Wall Flowers ft Your Old Droog, Termanology, & Lord Sear
15. Top Tier ft. Sean Price, Bun B, & Styles P
16. Silver Lining ft. ASAP Twelvyy, Kirk Knight, & Chauncy Sherod
17. Cold ft. Wais P & Jared Evan
18. All You Need ft. Action Bronson, Ab-Soul, & Elle Varner
19. Scratch Off ft. CJ Fly, Talib Kweli & Cane
20. Alone ft. Joey Bada$$
21. Harley’s Blues


Visuals for Vic Mensa’s track U Mad finally arrived. Watch Vic’s latest single featuring Kanye above.


ONI Live @ KSET, Zagreb (20.6.)

Hip Hop Unity vam za kraj sezone sprema boom bap poslasticu: boom bap super-grupu ONI! Oni će premijerno izvesti stvari sa svojeg novog albuma „Lajtmotiv“. Album je u potpunosti producirao KolAK47, ONI bitmejlker koji voli tipkati po MPC-u i tresti bass kutiju. Skrečeve za album su radili DJ Strajk, DJ Noki Nole i DJ Fundament, a miks i master je radio Magistar Andrei. Album ima 23 traka, intro, outro, 4 skita i 16 pjesama, a vokalno gostuju Kraken i Vargek Beatanga. Support boom bap superjancima će davati Sam Satan & Sajkoslav iz susjedne Dežele, i Tibor iz Dregermajster Crewa, te je nedavno izdao Pacino EP sa Flowdeepom. Ugošćuju vas Sukre i Rofellos, a osim naših rezident DJ-a Noleta i Katza u goste smo pozvali smo DJ Disctintiva iz Orahovice koji će set zamastiti tom slavonskom masnoćom! Vidimo se 20.6.2015. na boom bap senzaciji u zagrebačkom KSET-u!

Ulaznice su u pretprodaji od 09.06. po cijeni od 25kn u Dirty Old Shopu i u KSETu, dok će na sam dan koncerta cijena iznositi 35kn. Za samo afterparty poslije koncerta, ulaz će biti 15kn. Broj ulaznica za koncert je ograničen, stoga požurite po svoju da ne ostanete vani!

Facebook event

Page 21 of 1,999« First...10...1920212223...304050...Last »